About Us!
Vocal Revolution is the men’s performing chorus of The Greater Boston Chapter of
the Barbershop Harmony Society (BHS).

We are one of New England's premier a cappella performing groups and have won multiple adjudicated contests. Since chartering in 1970 as Sounds of Concord, our chorus has constantly remained dedicated to its mission of Moving Audiences and Enriching Lives Through Musical Excellence.

Our members come from all over the Greater Boston area and beyond. Many of our members are very dedicated; some drive a long distance on Thursday nights to sing with us. Our informal slogan is “Is it Thursday yet?”. Our rehearsals typically involve a fair amount of work, but the results are sometimes magnificent.

Members are expected to do their homework and to show up prepared to sing and perform without holding sheet music or iPads. We do not hold music in performance so the ability to memorize is important. So is the ability to perform….we are singer/actors, not just singers.

VR is the highest-ranked men’s chorus ever in the Northeastern District (NED) of the Barbershop Harmony Society, with 17 District Championship titles. We also were the Season 2 Adult category winner and overall champion on WGBH’s Sing that Thing competition.

Most years, VR performs at Large Public Events, Senior Centers, Fund Raisers, and Small Venues, and we are proud that we are able to fund our work through our earnings. We have sung at Symphony Hall, First Night, the Newport Mansions, Sturbridge Village, and at the Homecoming Parade in Plymouth.

We also raise funds at our Spring and Fall shows. The funds we earn from these go right back into the work of the chapter, and also serve to fund our “keep the whole world singing” program, which funds scholarships and grants for high school students and programs.

The Chapter is a dues-paying organization that includes people from all walks of life; students, professional engineers, doctors, salespeople, and lawyers to mention a few. Everyone in the chapter helps out; with the exception of our Director, all our work is done by volunteers.

Membership in the Vocal Revolution Chorus is by audition, with membership requirements that are consistent with eligibility to perform in the “Men’s” category in BHS contests.

The Chapter is a 501(c)(3) non-profit with EIN 23-7066982 and we appreciate donations of all sizes and types! Click here to donate.

Screen Shot 2021-08-17 at 3.12.24 PM.png

Cay Outerbridge, Frontline Director

Cay Outerbridge was named Musical Director of Vocal Revolution in March of 2019. In the years prior, he served as associate director for the chorus. He brings many barbershop skills to the table as a sought-after arranger and coach, certified Barbershop Harmony Society Music Judge, and aspiring vocal pedagogue and leadership thinker. When he isn’t directing Vocal Revolution, he sings in Daily Special, the 2019 Northeastern District Quartet Champion, and teaches private voice and arranging lessons.
Screen Shot 2021-08-17 at 3.12.30 PM.png

Ben Lewin, Assistant Director

Ben Lewin was named Assistant Director of Vocal Revolution in July of 2020. He joined the chorus in 2014 while in college at Tufts University, and he has held the roles of both bass and baritone section leader at different times throughout his Vocal Revolution career. Ben discovered his passion for barbershop in high school and has since become an accomplished quartet singer and barbershop arranger.  Ben sings in Daily Special with Cay and with Tomato Staccato, a comedic, food-themed quartet. Ben works as a Software Engineer, and lives in Arlington, MA.
2022 Executive Board
Seth Maislin – President
Suzy Kirch – Secretary
Carl Mikkelsen – Treasurer
Matt Saucier – Vice President, Marketing/Public Relations
Richard Critz – Vice President, Music/Performance  
Dick Arscott – Vice President, Membership
Scott Domaratius – Vice President, Community & Youth Programs
John Paton – Member-at-Large and Business Manager
Alan Levy – Member-at-Large
Nick Maas – Member-at-Large
Barbershopper of the Year
2021 - Ben Lewin
2020 - Seth Maislin

2019 - Cay Outerbridge
2018 - Krysta Petrie
2017 - Anand Sitaram
2016 - Matt Saucier
2015 - Joel Sutherland
2014 - Glenn McElhoe
2013 - Douglas Peterson
2012 - Joey Constantine
2011 - David Pierce
2011 - Mark Schuldenfrei
2010 - Dan Costello
2009 - Don Davis
2008 - Jim Kenealy

2007 - Ralph Fishman
1994 - Ernie Johansen 
1993 - Lindsay Coyle
1992 - Jim Curley
1991 - Wendall Putney
1990 - David Patterson
1989 - Greg Caetano
1988 - Bob Kilroe
1987 - Mark Carlson
1986 - Ed Rand
1985 - Tom McMahan
1983 - Ken Carter
1982 - Norm Buerklin

1981 - Ron Greene
1980 - Ev Nau
1976 - Lloyd Bickford
2006 - Lee Daum
2005 - Hank Turner
2004 - Larry Horwitz
2003 - Steve Nester
2002 - Tom Batton
2001 - Dick Bonzagni
2000 - Joe Casparius
1999 - Don Scott
1999 - Owen Sponagle
1998 - Herb Terakawa

1997 - Scott Domaratius
1996 - Carl D'Angio
1995 - Bill Labelle
Director's Award
2020 - Anand Sitaram
2020 - Carl Mikkelsen
2020 - Jonathan Watson
2019 - Carlo Ioffredo
2018 - Carl Mikkelsen
2017 - Krysta Petrie
2016 - Bob Perry
2015 - Max Sabor  
2014 - Bill Selander
2013 - Robert Cincotta
President's Award
2020 - Cay Outerbridge
2019 - Seth Maislin
2018 - Glenn McElhoe
2017 - Carl Mikkelsen
2016 - Don Lind
2015 - Megan Morse                               
2014 - Bruce Lopatin    
2013 - Don Davis